Din – Vol. 1, Chapter 18

VOLUME 1 –  CHILDHOOD

The Arena

NT: So… yeah… i don’t know what to talk about… I could talk about how I hide in the hall outside my friends’ room while they were playing Re4 (I was little, and it terrified me a lot), but… I don’t want to anymore. So… just go and… read.

Apparently, the Din Family had a bad reputation among the other nobles.

The Din House was in one of the most remote places in the kingdom.

Furthermore, it was of a humbler origin.

 

It was founded by a brave soldier who fought in one of the wars against the empire a few hundred years ago.

 

He stayed behind, in a territory abandoned by his Lord, enduring the attacks of the Empire until a ceasefire was declared.

As a result, the King gave him the following evaluation.

『You have been a good soldier who bravely faced the Empire』.

 

After that, the former Lord of the territory was removed and he began to rule it as a Nobleman.

However, there was considerable opposition to that.

Furthermore, after the Lord died, the next generation had to endure the same type of rejection.

 

The territory was small, and Din House’s relations with the other nobles in the area was also weak.

Then, as the surrounding nobles gained power, Din House began to weaken.

 

Years later, the head of the House married the daughter of the hated Jirginus Family.

That only caused the other nobles to hate our Fallen Noble House even more.

After that all the other nobles began to show complete rejection against us.

 

So, when we got to the Arena, I could see the crowds cheering on Durf.

Although I, Wokins and Shadiberga were also there, all the people around us supported Durf.

 

「Good luck, Durf-dono!」

「For the prestige of Hogos House, which has taken so much care of my son-in-law」

「Your opponent is nothing more than a weak little House! Show them their place!」

 

Oooh.

Some incredibly obese nobles were screaming.

I wonder if we were wrong and we arrived at a greedy pig farm.

They are just idiots who have drowned in their own power.

 

I could hear many families saying words of encouragement to Durf.

However, among them were also those who whispered about us.

However, none of them sounded really happy.

 

「… Is those fallen nobles. They should have kept quiet and just submid obediently」

「What happened to the Head of House, Shadiberga? Isn’t he in a wheelchair?」

「Those people always do weird things. Surely he was punished for that」

 

*Kusukusu*. Their malicious laughter reaches my ears.

I’m surprised they could say all of that with the person in front of them.

Shadiberga seemed to be ignoring them while keeping his eyes closed, however he must feel dejected.

It is painful to know that you are surrounded by people who don’t like you.

 

「… They hate me」

「That’s what we want them to do. It will be easier for us if they despise us」

「Re-Regis, please, do not irritate them too much」

 

What happens? Stop looking so pitiful.

You may end up acquiring some trauma when you come forward.

To calm him down, I nodded vigorously.

 

「Don’t worry. Have I ever done something that would cause any inconvenience to father?」

「Who was the one who started insulting Durf?」

「Now that I think about it, this arena is amazing. It’s really wide, isn’t it?」

 

Let us pass the inconvenient issues.

That kind of skill is really necessary for one’s life.

Also, it won’t be long before the duel begins.

 

The duel will begin after the two contestants have arrived.

However, the witness despatched by the King would be giving the greeting first.

We can take our time until then.

 

「I heard that it is also used as a training center by the soldiers」

「*fumu*, the use of such a large circular area would allow other tactics to be practiced」

 

As I looked around the stadium, I heard an animated voice approaching.

It appears that hogs are also allowed to climb up to these private seats.

People began to make way for our opponent.

 

Durf seemed to be in a very good mood.

When he stopped in front of us, he look at Shadiberga.

 

「Well-well, but it’s Shadiberga. You will have the honor of facing me today」

「Yes, it seems so」

「It is surprising that you did not give up the duel even after receiving that wound.

… *Kuku*, oh, I’m sorry. I am so moved by your perseverance that I end up letting out tears」

「How did you know that my Father was hurt?」

 

When I muttered that, Durf’s mouth twitched for an instant.

It shouldn’t be easy to hide your emotions when someone say that so suddenly.

Durf tried to justify himself as he broke out in a cold sweat.

 

「*Fun* I already imagined that Shadiberga would end up destroying himself.

This is nothing else but the will of heaven」

「Walkins, it’s terrifying. This guy thinks he can talk to heaven」

「Uh-huh, so creepy. He might end up founding a strange religion」

 

Throbbing veins began to become visible on Durf’s bald head when I said that.

Now, you don’t need to be so mad.

Are you a stupid brat?

Just let it pass.

 

Seeing my lack of interest, Durf clicked his tongue.

 

「*Tch*, I’ll make sure you regret acting so blatantly.

Today will be your last day with Wokins by your side.

From tomorrow she will be mine」

「Are you right in the head? It’s troubling that you think you have a bright future even though you simply ended up in ruin.

Well, it doesn’t matter―― I already knew that your brain could not function as it should」

「…… Da-Damn brat!」

 

Durf clenches his fists.

He has a very bad temper.

At this rate, you might not be able to keep up your polite noble act.

 

He has been someone who has enjoyed mistreating the weakest since he was born, I suppose it is not unusual for you to be that way.

 

The look he gave me reminded me of the ones I had received in my previous life.

I never received anything but insults from others.

And I can’t even remember all the times I was questioned by the police.

When I think of my youth, most of the things I remember are the time I spend in those interrogations.

 

Durf tried to bear his anger as he clenched his teeth.

Do not make me laugh.

After seeing how he acted in front of the rest, I was finally able to fully understand his personality.

He is the type of person who explodes easily when is provoked.

 

「Eh-hem, we’re sorry for the wait.

Since the Witness has finally arrived, we can start the duel」

 

A voice amplified by some kind of magic resounded in the Arena.

After the announcement, Durf returned to his place.

 

「I’ll remember this, you bastard brat」

「Will you remember how you were humiliated?

I’m sorry, but you don’t need to do that, who would mind if you remembered something so insignificant?」

「… Gu-Gununu」

 

His face turned red with embarrassment.

However, he still pushed the surrounding crowd and returned to his place as if nothing had happened.

It is at the opposite end of ours.

The Witness walks to the center of the arena and begins to explain the characteristics of the duel.

 

The Witness was a young woman with blond hair that reached down to her waist.

I never believed that the person appointed by the King was going to be such a beautiful woman.

The woman began to speak aloud.

 

「The duel between Hogos House and Din House is about to begin.

As a general rule, the duel will not end until one of the fighters dies or surrenders.

Please, each House send your representatives」

 

Oops, it’s about time.

On the other hand, Durf seemed to be looking somewhere, behind the pillars.

The target of his gaze carried two large swords in his hands.

 

Just as I thought.

I wonder if the other one could not appear due to the injuries caused by my attack.

Anyway, there was one of the Stalin brothers, the one who terrified Edgar and had managed to escape unscathed.

Will he be our opponent?

 

Regardless, his gaze was focused on Shadiberga.

However, he just watched him in silence.

My tension began to increase as a cold drop of sweat ran down my cheek.

 

「We will now announce the duel contenders. Representing the Hogos House is―― Stalin.

Representing the Din House is―― The Head of House, which currently is Shadiberga-sama」

 

At that moment, everyone moved their gaze to Shadiberga.

I could hear people muttering things like, 「Is he really going to go?」 and 「There’s no way」.

Durf, who also seemed to have been surprised by this, began to sweat.

 

However, that’s not the kind of expression I was looking to get from him.

The kind of expression he really wanted to get from that pig was―― the one he would have when his soul was ripped out.

 

「Well then, could both Houses let us know your aspirations? Let’s start with Hogos House」

 

Then, a staff member from the arena approached to Durf and us.

Durf seems to go first.

I wonder what kind of speech he will give.

 

「Yes, first of all, allow me, as Head of the Hogos House, to thank all of you for coming to see this Duel.

Although I would like to go out and face them on my own, we cannot forget what kind of people my opponents are.

No matter what they are called, they are still some desperate dirty peasants, and going out to confront them myself would stain the names of all those present――」

 

Everyone burst out laughing when Durf said that.

Only we and the Witness remained expressionless.

Apparently everyone has a very superficial sense of humor.

Comedians would be delighted to have an audience like this.

 

「―― As the Head of one of the Houses that has been entrusted with the protection of the western part of the Kingdom, I promise you a swift and overwhelming victory」

 

He said, concluding his speech.

At that moment, a wave of energetic ovations rose in the stadium in favor of Hogos House.

Durf raises his hands, responding to cheers.

I just witnessed the rise of a dictator.

 

They were like insects attracted to fire.

How desperate are they to get into it?

They are incredibly pitiful.

 

「… Eh-hem, thanks for that very motivating speech. Well, then, it’s the turn of the Din House」

 

Then, one of the staff members pushed a crystal against Shadiberga’s mouth.

Is that a microphone?

I suppose it’s to amplify the volume of the voice using magic

 

When I shot a glance at Shadiberga, he nodded his head with a dejected look.

Wokins also nodded.

 

Alright, it is time.

I took the crystal and started to speak out loud so that everyone could hear me.

 

「Errm, since my Father ended up hurting himself, I will take his place.

I am Regis, the son of the Head of the Din House, Shadiberga」

 

The murmurs of the audience flooded the entire arena.

No one had predicted that I would appear.

I could hear surprised voices everywhere.

 

「Who is that boy?」

「I’ve never seen him before. Is he really the heir to the Din House?」

「Since my territory is close to his, I could hear a few things. It is rumored that it is a prodigious boy」

「Don’t make me laugh. What could a child of his age able to do?」

 

People murmuring began to increase.

I must answer by all means.

Clear my throat and cut to the main topic.

 

「I think this occasion, where so many distinguished families have been invited to the Kingdom, is a great opportunity.

Let me make an important announcement regarding the future of the Din House」

「… An important announcement?」

 

The person who had brought the crystal bowed his head.

That is a good reaction.

The reaction of someone who cannot understand what I am about to do.

This will make the other nobles listen to me carefully

 

「To be honest, my father has been collecting a series of books that go against ethics.

The content of those books is so impressive, I shudder every time I think about it …」

「Wa-Wait! That has nothing to do with this!」

 

Shadiberga, who had been silent until now, stood up abruptly while shouting that.

However, the pain did not take long to travel throughout his body, forcing him to sit quietly again.

As expected of a deadly poison. It will not be easy to remove.

 

「I’m already exhausted from my father’s indecency.

As a result, after long meditation, I―― have come to the following conclusion.

I, Regis, heir to the Din House, for this day, will take control of all the rights and authority of the Din House.

Ooh, and likewise, my Father will relinquish control this day」

 

The screams of the audience rose here and there.

It seems they finally understood what he meant.

However, it was too late for that.

My plan was successful the moment I was not reprimanded for taking the initiative with the speech.

 

「Before those present, I declare that on this day, the Head of the Din House will be me, Regis.

―― Therefore, I will be the one who participates as the fighter」

 

At the other side of the Arena, Durf leaped from his chair.

After that, an intense amount of booing began to flood the entire place.

However, I raised my voice and shouted out loud to suppress the uproar.

 

「Shut up! This is a problem of my House!

Why should you complain about the decisions I make for my own family!? Uh!?」

 

When I yelled that, all the booing stopped.

They were just pointless screams that those who didn’t care about anything.

It was like the senseless anger of criminals.

As I thought they are nothing but empty words.

 

「So, Witness-san. I will fight as the representative of the Din House in this duel. Is it okay?」

「… If that’s the case then, I’ll approve of it.

According to the fourth Article of the Supplementary Laws of the Duel imposed by the King, any person has the ability to participate in the Duel as long as the given conditions are met.

So there is no problem」

 

Hearing her answer, I equipped the knife with the engraving of the Din House crest on it on my waist.

I’m ready for battle.

Some unsatisfied voices still echo in the Arena, but that doesn’t matter to me.

The Witness’ decision is absolute in the duel. I only act according to the rules.

 

「Kill him! Stalin, kill that insolent brat!」

 

Durf shouted excitedly.

I was surprised that he recovered so quickly after reacting that way.

It seems he understood that this was his chance to kill me.

He had a big smile on his face.

So disgusting.

 

「I’m leaving」

「Please take care of yourself」

「Yes」

 

When I looked back, Shadiberga still looked depressed.

Is it for the miserable reason I used to make him withdraw?

That doesn’t matter.

 

My parents also found my treasures in my previous life.

At that moment, they started calling me 「Filth」 with eyes that seemed to be seeing nothing more than a filth cockroach.

Don’t cry about something like this.

When Shadiberga noticed my gaze, he smiled wryly as he let out a sigh.

 

「Regis, be careful down there. Don’t be reckless」

「I know」

 

「… Seriously, you really are a child that I can be proud of」

「And you the father that I am proud to have」

 

Those words came from the bottom of my heart.

The staff started calling me, I have to hurry up.

Was it because my opponent was a skilled assassin? They didn’t seem to expect much from me.

 

But still, everything will be fine.

I have no intention of losing to anyone today.

I don’t plan to lose a battle where Wokins is at stake.

 

I passed through a luxurious gate and enter the arena.

My magic power has already been fully recharged.

Okay, let’s do it.

 

On the other side of the Arena, was a masked man holding an odachi in both hands.

We stand facing each other, separated only by the Witness.

 

「‘Yo! I will be your opponent」

「… It’s laughable. You couldn’t win before, even with thar Mercenary with you.

Or do you think, you are stronger than her?」

「Don’t ge me wrong, Edgar is stronger than me.

In other words, if I beat you, then that means that she is also stronger than you」

「… foolish」

 

Stalin remained silent after saying that.

Instead, he raise his swords to intimidate me.

That might be just a distraction.

However, I haven’t been training just to fall for something like that.

 

「Okay, both of you to your places … Get ready. Three • two • one――」

 

The Witness began to count quietly.

Took a deep breath.

And then, she quickly bring her mouth to the crystal, and declared the start of the decisive duel.

 

「――Begin!」

NT: As always, if you find something weird, whatever, just tell me in the comments.


Prior ||| Index ||| Next

4 comentarios en “Din – Vol. 1, Chapter 18

Deja un comentario