Din – Vol. 1, Chapter 17

VOLUME 1 –  CHILDHOOD

Strategic Meeting

NT: Hello there. Catora’s here. I’m a little late, i know, i’m sorry. I was, a little, kinda, busy. Not too much actualy, but, i was still trying to get use to the “online classes” my university’s giving due the pandemic. Is… not bad. Is not like, perfect, but, my teachers are doing all they can right know, so… it’s fine. I’m fine. I hope you’re fine too.

「Father, are you alright?」

「Ooh Regis, I’m alright but… Somehow you seem to have divided yourself into four」

「You’re not alright」

 

The next day.

Wokins and I met in Shadiberga’s room.

 

Father seems to have had a terrible fever the night before.

However, after drinking the medicine prepared by Wokins, he seems to have been able to recover a bit.

For the time being, I stroke my relieved chest.

However, the paralysis that affects his entire body is still severe, and it doesn’t seems like he will be able to move for some time.

 

「The enemy seems to have prepared something troublesome」

「Do you know who that assassin was?」

「He was one of the Stalin brothers. I have heard a few things about them.

They have been exposed numerous times, but they possess enough capabilities not to be caught」

「That’s right, they have gained fame in the underworld for that」

 

Edgar also knew about them.

Now that I think about her, was she able to make it to her inn safely?

I hope you didn’t end up falling asleep in the middle of the street or in some alley.

I’m not even able to imagine the things that drunk would be capable of.

 

「… I’m sorry」

 

Shadiberga murmured that while I was thinking about Edgar.

Then, he clenched his fists tightly and spoke in a tone of regret.

 

「We had to come all the way here because I responded to his provocations.

What’s more, I’m not even the only one who is in trouble, I even ended up involving Regis and Wokins in all this…」

「Now, now, Father. Cheer up. I think the fact that we’re still alive is good enough」

「That’s right. It’s too late to regret it now anyway」

 

Wokins and I tried to cheer him up a bit.

However, Shadiberga was still trembling with regret.

The tears had even started to overflow from his eyes.

 

「… Also, they stole Sefina’s knife from me.

I no longer have the right to show my face in front of her」

「I’m sure my Mistress will be happy to know that you’re still fine」

「That’s right. You don’t have to regret that」

 

Remembering what has happened is not bad, but if you do not look forward, you will not be able to advance.

Now, in order to recover, we must devise a plan.

However, since we haven’t been able to think of something viable, it could be said that we are in trouble.

 

Still, I couldn’t stop Shadiberga from grieving himself for his feeling of helplessness.

I should try to do something.

As I thought about that, Wokins patted me on the shoulder.

 

「Excuse me, Regis-sama――」

「Yes?」

 

I was led by Wokins out of the room.

Wokins came out with me.

I wonder if this was something that Shadiberga shouldn’t hear.

 

「Is something wrong?」

「Yes. I was thinking of infiltrating the Hogos residence as a last resort」

「… What do you mean?」

「It’s just like I said.

I plan to invade enemy territory, retrieve the stolen knife, and eliminate the enemy’s important people」

「Rejected」

 

I instantly shook my head.

Wokins was slightly confused upon hearing my immediate response.

 

「Why?」

「I don’t want Wokins to kill anyone」

「You’re being too soft」

「It might mb true. But, if being soft means you won’t have to kill anyone, then I don’t mind being like that」

 

However, this is only something I said out of my own feelings.

Wokins will not be convinced by this alone.

In that case, I should tell you what I have in mind instead.

I looked into Wokins’ eyes.

 

「Also, I would be in trouble if you did that.

I was planning to crush that house fair and square」

「What do you mean?」

「I mean that we will participate in the duel and obtain victory」

「… But, Shadiberga-sama is――」

「There are still things I want to investigate. Let’s go back to my father in the meantime」

 

I stopped our talk and tried to enter Shadiberga’s room.

Then, Wokins grabbed me by the shoulders.

 

「What’s wrong?」

「About what I said earlier――

If I just infiltrated myself in order to retrieve the knife without killing anyone, would you allow it?」

「No!」

「… Why?」

「Because I don’t want to Wokins go to dangerous places, that’s all」

 

Wokins was confused once again.

Then, she briefly said.

 

「A servant only exists to be used. It is the employer’s duty to use them」

「Maybe.

But, it is not my obligation to send someone close to me to dangerous places」

「……」

「Are you satisfied? If so, then come on」

 

This time, I was able to put my hand on the door handle to open it.

The door opened as it let out annoying squeaks.

Then, I heard a slight voice behind me.

 

「… Regis-sama, you’re too kind, you know?」

「I’m doing this just because is about you, Wokins」

 

I responded immediately.

Inside the room it was warmer than the hallway, making it much more comfortable.

 

Shadiberga was drinking some of the tea he had made for him.

I don’t really like tea, but Wokins seems to like it quite a lot.

Well, I also have a friend who likes to drink a lot of alcohol.

Compared to her, doesn’t drinking a lot of tea sound charming?

 

「What was you talking about?」

「Nothing, we were just debating which of Father’s books we should bring to facilitate his recovery, we didn’t know whether to choose the one with games with skeptical animals or the one with hermaphroditism」

「What are you talking about? !?」

 

Shadiberga shouted on the verge of tears.

Don’t take it so seriously.

 

「I’m kidding」

「I-I see」

「Yes, Father likes little sisters’ books after all」

「My nightmare isn’t over yet!?」

 

Instead of tormenting Shadiberga with my jokes, I should go back to the main topic.

I lift my finger and start to explain what I plan to do.

 

「Father, the situation has become really serious. We must check all our current problems」

「Tha-That’s correct」

「First of all, Father, you, who are our representative, find yourself in a state where you are clearly unable to win against our enemy」

「… Uhh」

 

Shadiberga groaned softly.

I think it is wrong to tell you this when you are so depressed, but I must continue with the report.

 

「Then the knife, which is a relic of great importance, has been stolen.

It is obvious that they will use it to threaten us. Up to this point, we can only consider that our disadvantages have doubled」

「… It is hopeless」

 

Oh, the light began to fade from Shadiberga’s eyes.

Damn, I must try to give him some good news or something.

If I don’t do something soon, he might end up with irreparable mental damage.

Wokins on the other hand only heard in silence.

 

「Also, since Wokins cannot participate, we also have no people left to represent us.

It is also impossible for us to hire a mercenary for tomorrow’s duel. It would be impossible to achieve it on time」

「… We-We have no other options left to take」

「That’s right, Father. So I have a request to make, would you listen to me?」

「What is it?」

 

Shadiberga leans in to hear me better.

To tell the truth, if I say it carelessly, it could end up causing him some massive damage.

I must be very careful while telling him. Very careful.

 

「Actually――」

 

The moment I told him, Shadiberga fully opened his eyes.

Then, as he opened and closed his mouth like a gold fish, he screamed out loud.

 

「Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeh !? I-I won’t let you do that!」

「It’s fine. It would be accomplished once I return it back to its original sheath」

「We’ll receive the scorn and laughter of the other nobles!」

「We are already fallen nobles, we have nothing left to lose」

 

Without even showing a sign that it was a joke, I said that with complete seriousness.

Shadiberga was slightly embarrassed to notice the sudden change in my attitude.

 

「… Th-That’s…」

「The noble neighbors have already refused to help us.

We have no one to depend on」

「T-That’s true …」

 

Shadiberga must be fighting with himself inside his head.

He should understand by now that there was no other alternative, but he still refused to accept it.

But if I don’t insist now, none of this would have made sense.

 

「Regis-sama, please explain it to this Wokins too」

 

Ooh, Wokins came at the right time.

Well done, Wokins. I must congratulate you later.

 

「I’m planning――」

「Aaah, so there was that option too?

As expected of Regis-sama, not even your father, who only knows how to frown, would have come up with a plan like that」

「Hahaha, you can say it again」

 

That nobles are people who put their prestige and pride first over everything else, right?

In that case, the Din House has nothing to do with it.

First of all, we are no different than the other fallen nobles you can find anywhere else.

We will use any means to win.

 

「I plan to go with that strategy」

「I agree with that」

「Two against one, Father?」

「… Uuuuh, alright! I don’t care what happens from now on!」

「I’ll let you have half the responsibility」

「And now you make me bear the responsibility too!?」

「Now, now, trust me. I will make sure this plan succeeds」

 

Reassure Shadiberga, who was still trying to accept the situation.

Everything went as I wanted.

Well done, should I build a bronze statue in my honor in the garden?

As I thought about that, Wokins smiled at me with relief.

 

「If you need me to help you with something, don’t hesitate to tell me」

「Aah, right, Wokins.

When this duel is over, could you meet someone?」

「Someone?」

 

Wokins bowed her head.

Didn’t you understand what I meant?

 

「The former mercenary. Didn’t I talk you about her before?」

「Ah, yes, I remember now, she should be in her 20s now, right?」

「Yes, that one. She wanted to see you, so please have a cup of tea with her」

「Okay」

 

Alright, I’m going to attract Edgar using this as bait.

She may not be in good condition, but those guys might try something again.

This will be my way of thanking her for helping me before.

 

「Alright, Wokins. Let’s continue with my magic training tonight」

「Yes, You should be able to finish it tonight」

 

That is all that remains to be done.

After that, if I can master that magic, I will be able to start my plan.

They dared to use dirty tricks against us.

In that case I will too.

Ah, although it’s not like I’m going to kill them…

I’m just going to cause them some massive bleeding and burn their bodies in a stake.

 

◆◆◆◆◆

 

My body moved like that of a beast.

My desire to reach the woman in front of me burned uncontrollably.

 

「Damn, stop running!」

 

We were in the mansion’s basement.

She was within arm’s reach, but still managed to dodge me.

She seemed to be doing it just to make me impatient.

 

The emotions I feel when I see her escape when I’m about to catch her are incomparable.

Right now, I was only able to chase her back while she simply ran.

 

My breathing becomes shaky and my body is covered in sweat.

However, only this type of intense training could allow me to become stronger.

So after swinging my knife――

 

「Let me hit youuuuUUUUUU!」

「Wow, is that all you have? I haven’t even started to sweat」

 

Until now, Wokins had only been evading my attacks.

Even after an hour of training, I still hadn’t been able to reach her.

Even when I kept on relentlessly attacking with my knife, she simply evaded it like nothing.

 

「Your swing is too wide.

Your movements are better than last year, but your stance is still too rigid」

 

Every time I attacked, she corrected me, pointing out my mistakes.

However, even though I changed my posture every time she pointed it out, she kept pointing out more and more errors.

I must say that the knife combat style has been quite difficult for me to master.

 

「Since your movements have gotten a little rough, let’s take a break for you to recover. Please take a deep breath」

 

I take a deep breath as directed.

I already mastered the magic I wanted a few hours ago.

Right now, I’m training with the knife so I can make better use of my magic.

 

「Wokins moves too fast」

「Not really. I only move as fast as an experienced assassin would.

Something like this is not even close to my real power」

「… I already know that」

 

I started this training a few years ago.

In order to use my magic much more effectively, learning how to use the knife was essential.

Why was it necessary for me to learn to use the knife to improve my magic?

 

The reason is clear.

It’s because that way I can protect myself while I chant the spells.

 

Also, I think the knife will give me more room to move in case of an emergency.

At first I had considered using a straight sword.

However, due to my physique, the sword was too big for me.

I also tried with the rapier, which is lighter, but it did not fit with my style at all.

 

As a result, I ended up choosing to use a knife which is much easier to handle.

Wokins suddenly exhaled and took a pose with her empty hands.

 

「So from now on I will attack too.

Please be sure to counter-attack me appropriately when I do」

 

The moment she said that, the figure of Wokins disappeared.

She had begun to approach me at high speed.

 

「…. Gu-!」

 

I pushed my knife forward.

However, Wokins noticed my movement and moved her arm.

Then, my knife was thrown into the air accompanied by a sharp sound.

Wokins had repelled my knife with her bare hands.

 

「What with that absurd-… Ugh-, uwaa!」

 

Wokins had launched an attack on me.

Somehow I managed to avoid it, but I ended up losing my balance.

Then I fell backwards onto the ground.

 

「… Guh!」

 

It hurt. I hit myself in the back.

She didn’t increase her speed just a little.

Wokins was clearly moving faster than before.

 

I tried to stand up, but Wokins had me pinned to the ground.

Then, Wokins looked at my face while laughing slightly.

 

「Gotcha」

「……」

 

When I raised my hands in surrender, Wokins smiled softly.

Then, bring my hand to your cheek.

Her silver hair touched my hand lightly.

My heart skipped a little when my hand came in contact with her silky smooth hair.

 

「Your hair, it’s beautiful」

「Thank you very much. I am doing my best to maintain it」

DNM V1 4 - Co2

Indeed.

I smiled as I thought about it, then Wokins ruffled my hair.

Then, she started running her fingers through my hair, combing it back slowly.

 

「Regis-sama, please be careful」

「Eh?」

「I ‘m talking about tomorrow. I never imagined that you would be able to come up with something so unreasonable like that」

「Me neither」

 

Even Shadiberga was surprised when I told him.

Wokins didn’t seem to have expected either.

Wokins looked at me with her crystalline eyes.

 

「I am happy to have had the opportunity to serve you, Regis-sama」

 

Then, she wrapped her arms around my chest and hugged me.

I could clearly hear Wokins’ heartbeat.

She must have her own concerns regarding our current situation.

 

I don’t like having to make others worry about me.

But, having these kinds of feelings is normal.

I must respond appropriately to your concern.

And I’ll do it protecting her.

 

「Me too, I’m happy to have you as my Maid, Wokind」

 

I caressed Wokins cheek with my free hand.

I am grateful to her for teaching me so many things.

I am really glad to have you by my side.

 

「Well, it’s about time I go to sleep」

「Yes. Tomorrow will be a busy day」

「How is Father?」

「He is resting.

He seems determined to go tomorrow, no matter what」

「I see. He can be quite stubborn sometimes」

 

I must respect his courage.

Also, I can only start my plan after Shadiberga reaches that place.

 

「Be sure to look at me, Wokins」

 

I got up and said that while reinforcing my determination.

Then, she smiled and nodded deeply.

 

「Yes. This Wokins will make sure to see Regis-sama with all her might」

 

Me and Wokins left the basement and returned to our respective rooms.

Maybe I should use the bathroom on the first floor before going to my room on the second floor.

I will relax my body with a bath and then go to sleep.

 

The battle will be tomorrow.

We will solve our problems with Durf in front of the eyes of all the other nobles.

You are very wrong if you think that everything has been solved with that assassination attempt.

 

I will definitely protect them.

And then I will return to you all the damage you have caused.

I imagine the counterattack I had planned for tomorrow while closing my eyes.

 

A wave of drowsiness swept over me as soon as I turned off the light.

And then, letting myself be carried away by desire, let my body rest――

NT: As always, if you find something weird, whatever, just tell me in the comments.


Prior ||| Index ||| Next

4 comentarios en “Din – Vol. 1, Chapter 17

Deja un comentario