Din – Vol. 1, Chapter 16

VOLUME 1 –  CHILDHOOD

Shock and Determination

Pack (02/02)

NT: Funny thing, i was about say… writte something, but, i fogot what was it about. I had it on the tip of my tongue, but… i can’t remembar what was it about… that is… quite annoying.

「Father! Are you all right!?」

 

I entered into the mansion by kicking open the door.

I immediately started running upstairs, straight towards Shadiberga’s room.

 

Then, when I entered, I saw the figure of the Head of the Din House, who was relaxing as if nothing had happened.

On the other hand, I was trying to catch my breath as the cold sweat ran down my entire body.

 

「What’s the Regis problem? I’m fine by the way」

「… Eh?」

 

Examine Shadiberga’s appearance.

Indeed, it doesn’t seem like he was attacked anywhere.

It can’t be, was what it said in that paper a lie?

 

Did they let us steal it on purpose?

No, it can’t be.

Losing that paper must have been a miscalculation to the other side.

 

While thinking that, Shadiberga complained.

 

「Unn…. I wonder if Wokins will be back soon」

 

After hearing those words, I notice it.

Now that I thought about it, I hadn’t seen Wokins anywhere.

 

「Father, where did Wokins go?」

「Ah, recently there were some problems…」

 

Shadiberga began to explain me what happened with a relaxed attitude.

There was supposed to be an envoy from the Royal Family coming over to extend his greetings early this morning.

However, he appears to have been attacked by someone on the way, while passing through the Southern Noble District.

He was wounded with a knife and was in a near-death state.

 

A Royal Retainers was attacked outside the castle.

It could be called the big news of the day.

Well, it’s no wonder that the atmosphere of the city felt so strange.

 

It was clear that no one would care too much about the accident at Edgar’s store when something like that was happening.

 

Still, to preserve the honor of the Royal Family, it was necessary to capture the culprit of that accident.

According to Shadiberga, one of the royal ministers residing in the city has apparently made one demand.

『The culprit cannot have escaped yet.

All the nobles in the Southern Noble District must deploy their soldiers and catch the culprit』

 

I stopped hearing after that, I could already understand why Wokins was not here.

Wokins probably would have stayed home to protect Shadiberga, no matter who gave the order.

 

But, if our House was involved, Wokins couldn’t help but move.

I did my best not to show my annoyance on my face.

 

「… Did you let Wokins out?」

「That’s right. Our soldiers stayed to defend our territory.

In addition, Wokins is the largest combat force of the Din House――」

「……」

 

Little by little, my bad feeling worsened.

It seems that my impatience had begun to show on my face.

Shadiberga mumbled something to calm me down.

 

「If we hadn’t sent someone, we would have earned the contempt of the other Nobles of the Capital….

We cannot stand idly by when everyone else has sent their people.

I don’t care, but I couldn’t let Sefina’s last name be tainted….

Regis, are you listening――」

「This is bad!」

 

Wokins is not here.

Probably nothing would have happened if it had been at any other time.

But not now. Indeed, this is a bad time.

Actually, there are no guards at the mansion right now.

 

«The preparations  finished».

That wasn’t something done to disturb royalty.

It was done in order to get Wokins away from the mansion.

 

Durf would not stay idle.

He’s been quiet for too long.

 

Make us not trust for the tranquility of the situation only to give ourselves a fatal blow from behind.

There is no doubt that a rotten nobleman like him would do something like this.

The time to do something―― It is now, that there is no guard at the mansion!

 

「Father, get away from there!」

 

At that moment, I could hear the sound of the window breaking.

An intruder had entered like the wind.

Then, he started running towards Shadiberga.

I, on the other hand, reacted too slowly.

Even if I started running at full speed right now, I wouldn’t make it on time.

 

He’s too fast.

The beast ran looking for its prey.

It was going at a speed that a amateur couldn’t even see it.

Then, the man running towards Shadiberga, with a cold voice, whispered.

 

「… I am one of the Stalin Brothers.

Shadiberga Din. I’ll take your life」

 

HIs outfit was completely black.

He looked exactly like the man who attacked me in the subway.

But, the weapon he was carrying was different.

 

He had a large knife with a pointed tip.

Clearly it was a weapon used to kill people.

Then, the assassin stabbed Shadiberga’s arm with the knife he was holding.

 

「… W-Wow!」

「Father!」

 

Shadiberga’s face distorted with pain.

I unsheathed the knife with the Din House emblem as I stood between the two.

 

The killer jumped back.

I will lose if I do nothing about it.

Chant the spell out loud and point to the man.

 

「Demon blood overflowing from my body. Become a flame and burn everything at my will―― 『Astral Fire』!」

 

As soon as I screamed that, the man’s body burned into flames.

My headache had peaked.

My nausea was so great that I ended up throwing up on the carpet.

 

Did I use too much magic power?

Noticing what happened, the man immediately soaked his body with the water he was carrying.

However, the intensity of the flames did not decrease at all.

 

「… Tch, flames that don’t go out. A cunning move」

 

The man turned to me with his knife.

Oh, if you kill me, the magic will stop working.

Would you rather murder me with that knife before trying to escape?

 

Since I know what you are planning, I should still be able to do something about it.

I should be able to face it, but――

 

「… Gu~u」

 

I fell to my knees. I don’t have enough strength.

My eyesight started to blur as my head spun.

I have experienced these feelings before.

When it was?

I think it was… when I died the first time.

 

At that time, I had given up on everything.

There was nothing I could do to survive.

I have lived my life like a garbage and died as such.

That’s what I thought.

 

But right now, I’m still alive-

I can still fight.

Just remember it.

You swore it that day.

 

That which I could never do in my previous life.

Didn’t you swear that in this new life you would succeed?

 

――And I would like to be a person who can save others.

 

I remember.

I gotta wake up.

I cannot allow him to attack Shadiberga.

I will definitely not allow it.

 

Although I was still reeling, I was able to stand up and look at the killer.

It hurt enough for my head to explode.

I felt like the contents of my stomach tried to go back all the way back,

However, I couldn’t give up in a place like this.

 

「… I’ll protect you」

 

I take my knife.

If I could use that magic, it would be possible for me to reverse this situation.

 

But I can’t do it.

I regret not having studied more when I had the opportunity.

However, I will make sure to protect Shadiberga with all the power I have left.

 

「Come on, Assassin. I will not lose!」

「… Bastard, even in that state――」

「Yes, my head hurts, so much that I would think it has already broken.

I feel like vomiting, my head doesn’t stop spinning and my gaze has already blurred.

I feel like my heart is being crushed, I can barely stand up and I can’t even hold steady」

 

It was impossible for me to end worse than I already am.

I’m so wrong, it’s a miracle that I could stay conscious.

Hearing my words, the killer narrowed his eyes.

 

「… Then-」

「―― But still.

It’s not reason enough to give up」

「……」

「I won’t lose, Assassin!」

 

The moment I screamed that, a lot of blood came out of my mouth.

It seems that using my magic power as carelessly as I have been doing until now has ended up weakening my body much more than I thought.

But, I have to bear it if I want to defeat this guy.

Take this, the most powerful thunder magic Wokins has taught me so far.

 

「Pierces the earth, indomitable lightning.

Enforce your divine judgment and punish the root of evil―― 『Bolt Judgment』!」

 

*Piki*, a high-pitched screeching echoed in every corner of my brain.

It feels like someone has inserted a drill into my brain.

The rampant drilling sound tormented me relentlessly.

 

A mixture of blood and vomit overflowed from my mouth, spreading all over the floor.

However, I still managed to activate the magic.

 

 

Bolt Judgement

 

 

It was a thunder magic found within the 『New – Master Edition』.

It was a lightning bolt impossible to avoid, witch move at the speed of light.

An abnormally large and powerful beam that completely destroys the enemy.

 

「… Guh, you bastard!」

 

The Assassin tried to stop me but seeing that it was too late, he tried to defend himself.

Then, the sound of an overwhelming explosion, which would threaten the life of anyone who ran into it, echoed in the room.

Then, the only thing left was the body of Assassin, paralyzed and full of wounds.

 

「… Damn it, retreat」

 

The ray impossible to avoid and a flame impossible to extinguish.

The battle ended in a state where neither could continue, so the Assassin attempted to escape.

Then, he ran to the window, and just before jumping, she muttered.

 

「… But, I fulfilled my purpose.

Also――  I will take this knife.

It could be useful, later」

 

When I take a closer look, notice that the killer picked up something.

It was the knife that Shadiberga treasured so much.

The inheritance of the House Jirginus, given by the Sefina’s House.

 

「St-Stop!」

「… Any antidote will be useless, dive into an abyss of despair and die poisoned. Shadiberga Din」

 

Then, before I could do anything to stop him, the Assassin threw a knife at me.

Of course, it was the same type of knife that has pierced Shadiberga.

At the same time, the figure of the assassin vanished.

 

Somehow, he seems to have escaped.

You could say I won the battle, but I lost the war.

I don’t have enough strength to evade that knife.

 

「…… Ugh」

 

The knife approaches me.

I managed to prevent Shadiberga from being assassinated, but I will not be able to stop the impact.

Out of fear, I started closing my eyes.

But, at that moment, a pair of delicate hands appeared behind me.

 

「… ¿¡Eh !?」

 

Then, the knives pierced those delicate hands that stood in front of me.

Blood splattered on my face.

Blood kept dripping from the place where the knives were driven.

When I looked up, I saw Wokins, who was smiling at me affectionately.

 

「I’m back.

I regret not being able to return earlier」

 

While saying that to me, who was still considerably scared, Wokins removed the knife that was buried in her hand without even changing her expression.

 

「This… is covered in poison」

 

Wokins muttered that with a frown after licking the blood from her wounds.

Then, she let out a sigh when she noticed Shadiberga, who had already passed out.

 

「He should somehow survive if I give him the treatment now. As expected from Shadiberga-sama」

 

Wokins ran her fingers around the wound Shadiberga had on his arm.

Could it be because of the poison they administered? His arm had turned completely purple.

His veins throbbed unpleasantly, it hurt just looking at him.

 

「Will my Father be alright?」

「He will be alright, although they seem to have given him a powerful poison――

Anyway, those kinds of things don’t make sense in front of me」

 

Shadiberga was dying.

Then, while rubbing her chin, Wokins cast a spell in a carefree tone.

At that moment, the atmosphere inside the room completely changed.

 

「From ancient times, when heaven and earth watched over the death of the poisonous serpent that corrupted the spirit of the fallen soldiers.

Let that poison be extinguished by the lesser one―― 『Poison Slayer』」

 

… Again?

Once again, Wokins used some kind of magic that I had never seen in books before.

It was the same as 『Chaos ・ Cataract』.

And even with 『Giga Teleportation』, which she had used in the library.

It wasn’t ordinary magic, but super high class magic that no one had ever heard of before.

 

I am sure that this magic that I have just foreseen is also about a magic that no one has ever heard of.

Every time I see Wokins using magic, the mystery about her only increases.

However, its effects could not be taken as a joke, when I looked again, the swelling on Shadiberga’s arm had disappeared to the point where I would believe that what just happened before was only a lie.

 

「If we had left him alone, the poison would have eroded his entire body and would have died in less than 1 day.

But now that I’ve treated him, he’s out of danger, but we’d better let him rest for a while」

「Wait, Wokins, you were also poisoned with the same type of poison」

「I’m not going to die from a simple poisoning, my body can take care of that on its own」

「… Are you kidding me?」

「I’ve learned various kinds of poisonous magic, so my body has developed some resistance」

「……」

 

If you improve on a certain magic attribute, you can also acquire some resistance against the same type of attribute.

I already knew that.

People who have mastered fire magic have great resistance to fire.

But still, why did you learn poison magic?

 

Of all the types of magic out there, I’m sure there is only one that anyone could immediately understand its usefulness just by hearing its name.

The Poison Magic.

I didn’t feel any discomfort when it was used by that man.

But you are different, Wokins.

He is an inhabitant of the underworld, and you are only a somewhat eccentric Maid.

 

I don’t know your age.

You know many strange magic.

Your sword skills are excellent.

And your physical abilities are amazing.

 

The more I know you, the more mysterious you become.

Everything about you is a mystery.

Also, you seem to be hiding an incredible secret.

 

Wokins, will you one day tell me your secret?

No, it’s probably impossible, unless I try to figure it out myself.

But this is not the time to try yet.

Now I must calm down, I have only been overwhelmed by earing some suspicious words.

 

「Father, can you move?」

「… G-Guuh」

 

Even when I called him, Shadiberga only gave a few groans.

I guess he still hasn’t fully regained consciousness.

Wokins, who saw him act that way, let out a sigh.

 

「It would be best if you take a break for a while.

Regis-sama, you should too.

I’ll be watching, so sleep peacefully」

「… Okay. So, early tomorrow we will start to design our future plans」

「Understood」

 

I will let her take care of him.

I couldn’t do much if I stayed, either.

 

Now I just want to rest easy.

My magic power is already almost completely exhausted.

Even if I try to think of something, my head is already completely blank.

It’s also not like I want to keep thinking for today.

 

For now, I can only be relieved that Shadiberga is still alive.

If I had been playing on the road, Shadiberga would surely have been killed.

Still, while it may sound a bit selfish, I prefer to become a good shield before being stabbed.

 

「… I still have a long way to go」

 

My head feels heavy.

Look at my reflection in the bathroom mirror.

I looked like a living dead.

Even after washing with water, I still smelled the strong smell of blood.

The iron taste that invaded my nose was irritating.

 

「… I will definitely not forgive you」

 

After returning to my room, I dropped onto the bed.

Stalin.

Durf.

 

The names of those who attacked Shadiberga come to mind.

He has made it impossible for his rival to participate in the duel.

I am sure that right now you are gloating over your achievement.

 

But your joy will not last long.

I will make you understand.

I’ll make sure to meddle in and find a way to snatch victory from him.

 

「I’ll show you hell」

 

While thinking of a way to defeat those guys, I closed my eyes.

I quickly lost consciousness fur the fatigue I felt.

In the end, I ended up sleeping soundly until dawn the next day――

NT: As always, if you find something weird, whatever, just tell me in the comments.


Prior ||| Index ||| Next

6 comentarios en “Din – Vol. 1, Chapter 16

Deja un comentario