Din – Vol. 2, Chapter 4

VOLUME 2 – ACADEMY ENTRY

To the Royal Capital

NT: So, it will be long… So, first of all, greating, it’s been a while, kinda, so… Catora desapeared for a while because it seems like he cought a little depresion or something like that and… he didn’t wanted to do anything, but well, now i’m fine, «yay~», and, wheeel, that. Now, i wanted to upload this a while ago, but… there where issues… one, was, well, the length of theses chapters, i mean, before this, i also make a kind of pack for Nvl999, but, the word of those chapters have like, 4 pages only, BUT THIS HAVE 26, 26 DAMN PAGES, and, well, i saw that and said «Hell naw», and just close the word and, didn’t thing about it for the rest of the day… the second and main reason was… OH BAD IT WAS, i mean… FORMER CATORA WAS SO DAMN BAD, i mean… yeah, it is not a «bad» translation (I’m talking about the Spanish ver), BUT DAMN, IT COULD BE SOOOO DAMN BETTER. Seriouly, what was i thinking back then? Not, right, these chapters where a little dificult to translate, but even so… Catora was forced to re-whrite a few parts while making this.. damn… when did Catora become an OP translator? How long do i suppose to keep going with these inferior version of myself… anyway, the issue is that, i wasn’t in a good mod… theres other two chapters in coming so, yeah, check the site a few times during the next two, three days i guess…

「There doesn’t seem to be any problem」
「Really?」

I was taking a break at the mansion.
There was still time for the sun to set, so I had thought about taking a little nap in the meantime.
However, before I could do it, I was called by Alex, who had finished preparing the documents I needed.

By the way, Shadiberga was forced to repair the damage caused by the explosion that occurred earlier.
The explosion occurred further away from the laboratory, but still caused some damage.
I get the impression that the mine grounds will end up being a wasteland from all the explosions by the time the investigators can come up with some conclusion for their investigations.

Alex was drinking apple tea next to me right now.
Then, she began to explain the situation to me in a more serious tone.

「Generally, those who try to get in the Academy train for about 10 years in order to manage to be accepted.
That should make you understand how complicated the entrance examination will be」
「I know, I’ve heard about the exam. It is an exam based on the acquisition of points in different tests.
The tests will be divided into three, which will be evaluated around 3 different categories」

It will be decided whether or not the person is suitable to get in the Academy based on the score obtained in these tests.
During these tests, 7 different aspects will be evaluated.
Applicants will obtain a grade that will normally go from E to A depending on the number of points obtained in each of these aspects.

However, about 300 years ago, the House Radius, one of the Three Royal Houses, underwent an unusual reform.
As a result, the exam ended up taking a more discriminatory stance towards the lower Nobles and favoring the Higher Nobles.

It is said that, although the other two Royal Houses had not directly rejected their decision, they were infuriated by what happened.
However, for the sake of not destabilizing the balance of power back then, they were forced to leave the House Radius alone.

Finally, the reform was carried out without problems.
Although the system that was used to rate applicants did not really change, High Nobles began to be admitted to the academy, even when they showed poor results.
On the other hand, even when the lower Nobles that show some incredible effort to get in, weren’t always admitted.
It’s such a regrettable thing.

As expected, numerous loopholes were also created.
Among them was the fact that detailed information on entrance exams was impossible to acquire.
So how would it be possible for me, a Fallen Noble, to be able to get in the Academy?

「Wondering how bad your situation is?
Then I’ll tell you. Listen carefully, Regis」
「Y-Yes. Tell me」
「First of all, almost all the tests you will have to complete in order to get in the Academy have clearly been corrupted by the Nobles of the Kingdom.
The first one is the 『Basic Magic Power Test』」

I was surprised when I heard its name for the first time.
Then, after thinking about it for a moment, it stopped looking like such a strange test.
Basic Magic Power.
That should be a test that favors people with quite a bit of magical power, right?

「Let me make something clear to you.
No matter how hard you try, you won’t be able to get the points necessary to get a grade above C」
「What do you mean?」
「It’s not something I can tell you myself. The best thing is that you discover it for yourself.
After that will come the test that will determine whether or not you can get in the Academy.
The 『Magical Power Affinity Test』」

Alex ignored my question and went on to tell me about the next category of the tests.
By Magical Power Affinity Test, you mean the affinity to attributes that we talked about in the lab?
Just recently, when we were still in the lab, spending time testing the sounding stone.
I don’t think I’m wrong.

「This could also be considered as the test that usually causes the failure of most talented people…
As you know, the affinity to magical attributes can be judged based on two types, the 『Aptitude』 and the 『Dexterity』 of the user」

Yes, I know.
If the Aptitude for Magic of a certain attribute is high, the potency of the magic of the same attribute increases and the spells’ recoil decreases, also, the speed at which the attribute’s spell is chanted can also be reduced if the Aptitude is high.
If the Dexterity of the Magic of a certain attribute is high, the resistance against attacks of the same attribute increases and the casting speed of spells also decreases.
NT: Aptitude = Up magic power and chanting speed + reduced recoil.
Dexterity = Up magic resistence and shooting speed.
The way of training each one is different from the other, the last one is particularly difficult to train because it can only be elevated through experience.
After confirming the knowledge I possessed on the subject, Alex coldly said.

「After seeing how you control your magic power, I have been able to realize that you have focused on training your Dexterity」
「Yes, that’s right」

I decided that training my Dexterity was the most important based on Wokins’ teachings.
In my opinion, in a battle between magicians, the one who has the advantage is the one who has the highest defensive capacity.
It is the difference between the possibility of being defeated in one blow and that of being able to endure everything without problems.
This is why, from my point of view, Dexterity is the most useful when it comes to real battles.

Isn’t it better a situation where you let the enemy exhaust their magic power in vain while you are able to resist all of their attacks?
After thinking about how the battles against other people are, I thought that it was best to improve my Dexterity to be able to resist others’ attacks.

Therefore, I made sure to train, over and over again, day and night, just to improve my Dexterity to the maximum.
Thanks to that, most of the basic fire or thunder attribute magic attacks only deal enough damage to me to just make me slightly frown.
Still, Alex seemed unsatisfied with this.

「Is there something wrong with this?」
「Yes, there is. What happens is that the training you carried out was not the indicated one. It will surely cause you some problems later.
You should have taken into account the things they would evaluate at the academy when you started practicing magic.
Well, about 100 years ago you could still have completed the tests without problems if your Dexterity was high.
However, right now, testing is focused on assessing the Aptitude of applicants.
Only the elders would think that training Dexterity is the right choice if you intend to get in the Academy.
… Regis, how old is the person who taught you magic?」
「Nn? No idea」

It’s not that I don’t want to tell you.
It’s just that I have no idea how old my Magic Master is.
Speaking of her, Wokins still hasn’t returned.
I think it’s been too long for a simple break.

「Well, it doesn’t matter.
Currently, the sons of the corrupt Nobles of the Kingdom have been improving their Aptitude for magic as it is easier to raise in shorter periods of time.
And in my opinion, your Aptitude for magic is as low as commoners!」
「Wh-What !?」

I do not agree with this new system.
Why have you decided to focus the exam on Magical Aptitude?
Most of the training I have done has been solely to improve my Dexterity.
Do not change the things you will evaluate in the tests to your liking.
Do not change the rules that govern the country as you please.

「Your Dexterity seems to be higher than that of most people.
However, that will be quite useless to you in the 『Magical Power Affinity Test』」
「Won’t it be useful to me?」
「Yeah, well, if I have to put it in other words, then I’d say you’ll be considered good for nothing」
「Good-for-nothing!?」

To think that it would go to that extreme.
What’s more, did it have to be that word? That is the word that led in the first place in the list of insults that I had been told in my past life.
My mood plummeted to the ground the moment she said those words.

But does that mean that Wokins didn’t know about the things they would be in the tests?
No, it is impossible that she made a mistake as serious as that.
I’m sure she was thinking about something when she instructed me to improve my Dexterity.
But still, I wonder why she didn’t tell me what the tests would actually be evaluating.

「And finally. This is the test where you will probably get the highest score.
The 『General Magical Power Test』.
This is the only test that has not undergone any change since the founding of the Academy.
In this test you will be able to use everything you know to destroy the targets that are indicated to you」
「Ooh, I think I will be able to deal with it very well」
「Yes, however. Don’t expect to be able to get a grade higher than C on the Basic Magical Power Test.
You should also make sure to do something eye-catching during the Magical Power Affinity Test.
It will be difficult, but you will have to work hard to overcome these two obstacles」
「Ca-Can’t I try to improve my Magic Ability right now?
「It is impossible. Do not think that it is easy to improve just because it can be elevated in a short period of time.
If people could improve their Magic Ability in a matter of days, then everyone could become a high-ranking Magician」
「… I see」

So that’s the situation.
I went through a hellish training just to improve my magic power Dexterity.
But, although I think I should do well in the Basic Magic Power Test, it turn out that they will not take into account my magic power Dexterity at all?

Seriously, a normal person would have made sure to raise their Aptitude and Dexterity in a balanced way.
I’m an idiot.
But seriously, how was I supposed to know that?

It doesn’t matter, it’s done.
Now I can just have faith in my Dexterity.
At the very least, I’m sure that I won’t be immediately defeated just by being attacked by some magician.
I am sure that I will be able to withstand even their most powerful attacks.
But, it doesn’t make much sense if I can’t apply it on the entrance exam.

「Ha~a…
I’m afraid I can’t help you much in regards to that.
However, I think it’s better than just pretending to have some talent like those corrupted Nobles.
I also have high expectations on Shadi. So don’t think you will be able to do absolutely nothing when the time comes.
Anyway, feel lucky. I have already formulated a strategy with which even you could get in the Academy」
「As expected of you, Alexandria-sensei!」

I began to speak to her more politely the moment she said those words.
As expected of someone in whom Shadiberga placed all his trust.
And to think that I came to believe that she was just an extremely childish Loli who liked to fly through the skies.
But even so, it turns out that deep down she is a very kind and trustworthy young lady.

「Well then, let me tell you what to do.
First of all, think of yourself as a pile of garbage」

What horrible things you say.
Wait a minute. I withdraw everything I said earlier.
I see absolutely no kindness coming from you.
Okay, I was trash, that’s something I’ve known for a long time.
However, that was in my previous life.

「There is a way that trash can get in the Academy as trash.
After all, to get in the Academy, you need to get a C-grade or higher in each test respectively」
「Ooh, it’s simpler than I thought」
「Yes, however, it will not be easy for you to achieve since you will have a series of advantages blocking your way.
Well, in the tests you will get a grade between E to A, or in other words, a grade of 1 to 5.
You need to have at least 21 points in total in the 7 tests that you will have to complete during the exam. You must use your ingenuity to obtain the points you need to pass」
「Understood」

I suppose it will be difficult to pass due to my status.
The last time I ended up in an incredibly annoying problem because of that.
However, it can’t be helped in that kind of place.
I asked Alex for a more detailed explanation of her plan.

Alex’s plan went as follows.
First of all, I must make sure that I acquire a C grade in the first test, the 『Basic Magic Power Test』.
She didn’t tell me why I wouldn’t get a grade higher than C.
『Don’t think you can find the solution to everything if you keep asking others for the answer』, she said with an irritated tone.
I could only shrug when she told me that.
Uwa~, she started hitting me. So cruel.

After that, I have to make sure I get the highest possible score on the 『Magical Power Affinity Test』.
It seems that I have no choice but to get a high grade for this test.
Even if I say that the training I have been carrying out wasn’t the right one, that will not change the content of the test.
I must stop making excuses and face these tests with all my might.

By the way, it seems that the Magical Power Affinity Test is composed by 5 of the 7 tests of the Exam, so by the time it ends, I will have finished with 6 of the 7 tests in total.
Because of that, I have to make sure to get at least 16 points by then.
If I get a score lower than that, I will most likely fail.

Lastly is the 『General Magical Power Test』.
In this test I should have an overwhelming advantage.
I simply have to use the spells of the attribute I want to destroy what they ask me to.
I should have no problem at all getting an A grade if I go all out.
Uwa~, I even have Alex’s stamp of approval.
Yes, I can be sure that I will do excellent in this last one.

Alex lowered her cup of tea when she finished giving me that explanation.
Then, she told me with a warning tone.

「The Nobles… Especially those who are clearly less skilled than you, will surely achieve high scores. However, you should not worry about it.
The tests to get into the Academy have been modified to give those kinds of people the advantage」
「I know. I’ll make sure to complete the exam with all my strength」
「That’s the spirit」

There is no way I can get through this if I don’t have the determination to move on.
Even if most of my training was focused on improving my Dexterity with magic, I am sure that, somehow, I will get through this.
No, I must get over it.

I will definitely get over this.
My heart couldn’t help but burn with excitement when I thought of this.

◆◆◆

Two weeks later.
I didn’t have the opportunity to meet Alex very often during the past two weeks since she had spent most of her time in the research labs that were near the mine grounds.

On the other hand, every time Alex came to the mansion, Wokins would disappear.
I wonder if it’s more than just a coincidence.

However, Alex doesn’t seem to be very concerned about Wokins.
Maybe I’m overthinking this.

By the way, today is the day of our departure.
The exam is still a few days away, however, it is not a bad idea to leave earlier considering the time it will take to get there.
I put the suitcases with my belongings in the carriage.
Then, I said goodbye to Shadiberga, who had come to say goodbye to us.

「Fine, I’m ready. I’m leaving, Father」
「Yes, be careful」
「One year. In a year, I’ll get the Ryûjin No Saji and return」
「Just don’t put yourself at risk to get it. I hope I can see you safe and sound when you return」
「Yes」
「… Regis, before you go…」

At that moment, Shadiberga called me with a tense look.
It’s the kind of look he put when hr have to say something he’s not entirely comfortable with.
I shrugged and turned to him again.

「What’s up?」
「It’s about Sefina. She’s been sleeping all day」
「… I see」
「Until now, you haven’t had a chance to see Sefina. Not once since you were born」
「That’s right」

That’s right.
Until now, I have never had the slightest chance to see Sefina’s face.
Also, I only got my ego back one month after I was born.

That’s why I also don’t remember seeing Sefina even once until now.
Of course, there is a reason for this.
She, fearing that I might catch her disease, refused to allow me to see her when I was just a baby.

Later, at the time when I began my training, I was forbidden to see her, as she did not want me to see her in the pitiful state she was in.
That was the reason why I couldn’t see her.

Shadiberga could only say, 『Sefina has always been like this』, with a bitter smile on his face.
Apparently, she was the type of person who did not like to show weaknesses to others.
Anyway, I, who did not want to ignore her feelings, decided to keep my distance.

However, it also feels a bit lonely.
There is no child who doesn’t want to see their parents’ faces, even if it is only once.
On the other hand, few children wish they never had to see them again.
In the same way, it is really strange to see a child who doesn’t want to see thir parents ever, even though they really loves them.

If they asked me if I want to see her, then I would say yes, I want to see Sefina.
However, I plan to do so when I become someone everyone can be proud of.

「Regis. Sefina is still sleeping, even now, so she probably won’t notice if you see her secretly.
Wouldn’t you like to see her before leaving?」
「… No, I would rather not do it honestly. I don’t want to ignore Mother’s wishes visiting her even though she wants to keep her distance」
「Her body is approaching a very dangerous state. Are you sure you don’t want to see her now?」
「That’s why I insist.
I want to save the experience of our first meeting to after I get a way to completely cure her of that disease」
「… Seriously, you…
I’m sure Sefina would be happy to hear you say that」

Shadiberga said while smiling.
I am going to the Academy in order to help Sefina.
I will not hesitate to mercilessly crush anyone who dares to stand in my way.

I have already made many promises, and I plan to fulfill each one of them in one go while I am in the Royal Capital.
I’m also excited that I’ll be able to see a friend that I haven’t seen in a long time.
It could be awkward if I get too carried away, so I have to make sure to stay calm at that moment.
I should try to practice giving a good handshake.

I tried to leave again.
However, at that moment, I remembered something important.

「Oh, right」
「Is something wrong?」
「I was thinking of taking the study book with me. I almost forgot」

Seriously.
To think that I almost made such mistake.
I’ll be in trouble if I leave my study book.
I must have left it on one of the shelves in the library.

At that moment, when I passed through one of the windows of the mansion, I could see Alex, who was waiting for me in front of the carriage.
It seems that, since she is the person who is recommending me, she have to accompany me to the Capital.

I ran up the stairs to the library.
Good, I already found the one I was looking for, so I should hurry back.
Then, at that moment, I could hear someone calling behind me.

「Regis-sama」

It was the voice of someone with whom I was very familiar.
I’m talking about Wokins.
I had thought that she wasn’t in the mansion since she didn’t came to say goodbye to me.

「I’m leaving, Wokins」
「Yes, I’ll be waiting for your return.
What I taught you may not have been the most suitable for the tests you will have to complete, but still, do your best」
「Leave it to me. I do not intend to embarrass my Master by giving a poor show during the exam」
「… Regis-sama…」

She said my name.
She said it in an uneasy voice, as if it were something very important.
Then, Wokins expression turned melancholic.
At that moment, she murmured in a pained tone.

「There was a reason why I had Regis-sama carry out that kind of training」
「I know. I trust you.
You don’t have to worry about anything. I’ll manage somehow」

Besides, I am the one who asked her to teach me.
I can’t begin to complain about the way she did it.
Besides, there must have been a reason why she taught me that way.
I also don’t want to become the kind of person who blames others for their mistakes.

Wokins seems to have recovered after hearing my words.
However, I still feel she doesn’t look as cheerful as usual.
She feels a little different than usual.

「… ¿Wokins?」

I wonder if she feels bad.
She looks just like Shadiberga after he worked for a long time.
Well she probably just needs a break.
While I was thinking about that, Wokins leaned over to whisper something in my ear.
Her words, which were spoken in an unusually haunting tone, were directly etched into my brain.

「――Soon, the world will turn into a place where everything everyone care will become worthless」

She whispered.
Then, she just walked away from me.

Her eyes had always been a silver color.
The same beautiful silver color as her hair.
However, right now, its color had changed, turning a mixture between gold and red.
Then, I had a familiar feeling.

―― I’ll be eaten.

My instincts made me feel extremely alert due to the surge of feelings that flooded my body.
The strange words that Wokins had said to me kept haunting my head with no signs of disappearing.
What is this feeling?

Is that why she made me improve my physical ability?
What does that have to do with all this?
What’s more, why did I feel so terrified the moment I heard those words?

I wonder why I felt this way.
Contrary to me, I don’t feel any uneasiness coming from Wokins.
I don’t get it.
However, right now, I have other things to worry about.
The moment I thought about that, I could hear a booming voice coming from outside the mansion.

「Hurry, Regis! If you don’t come now, I’ll leave you behind!」

The tomboy was the one who uttered that loud cry.
Are you not one of the Four Wises of the Continent?
Seriously, the more I get to know you, the more doubts you make me feel about that.

「Now that I think about it… Wokins. Do you know Alex?」
「No. In fact, I haven’t had a chance to even see her」
「I see」
「… At least, not this part of her」
「Nn?」
「It’s nothing. Have a good day, Regis-sama」

Wokins said with a smile on her face as she elegantly lifted the hem of her skirt.
What did she say?
Don’t tell me she has a connection with such monster that has lived for more than 500 years?

No, maybe her words don’t have any special meaning.
I must be overthinking this, yes, that must be it.
Wokins is the maid of House Din, nothing more than that.
I think I’m just too worried about the current situation.

「Well then, I’m leaving」

I said that as I started to walk towards the exit, however, at that moment, I felt as if the presence of the Wokins became more tenuous.
 I turned around in surprise, but Wokins was still there.
She seems to be using some kind of magic that makes it hard for other people to notice her.
I wonder if she doesn’t wants to be notice by Alex.
Why are you hiding from her?

Ha~a, I don’t have time to think about that right now.
After going down the stairs, I passed Sefina’s room.
It has been 15 years since she caught the 『Disease of No Return』.
Sefian, who has been enduring an unbearable amount of pain all this time, seems to have been starting to lose consciousness lately.

I only needed to walk in front of her bedroom door to hear her constant, stormy groans of pain.
She has been forced to endure this suffering for the past 15 years.
Her health began to decline immediately after giving birth to me due this deadly disease.
And now, it’s up to me to get her back to normal.
I leaned my forehead against the door I muttered …

「Please, just wait a little longer, Mother」

Of course, there was no response.
I will have all the time in the world to hear her voice once she’s recovered.
So I must hurry and gather the items I need once and for all.

When I went outside, the scorching sun was lighting up the sky.
In terms of my past life, we are in early summer.
It is the perfect time to leave.
I said hello to the lazy Alex who was still waiting for me in front of the carriage.

「Sorry, it seems I kept you waiting」
「I don’t understand how you can be so relaxed when we are about to leave for the battlefield.
Seriously, it’s not good to keep the Supreme Magician waiting」
「I ask you to forgive me for making you wait so long」
「Stop, it’s annoying」

After we got into the carriage, I instructed the driver to leave.
At the same time, I let out an intrepid laugh.

A philosopher once said.
People grow in proportion to the difficulties they have experienced.

Do not think that I didn’t take any security measures before getting into this carriage.
And don’t think I’ve forgotten that time when I became a puke sprinkler, either.
At that moment, I pulled out a rope attached to a piece of cloth that I had hidden between my clothes.
Then, I passes it through the ceiling of the carriage to the seat.
Now, if I put your head on the cloth, it will hold my head in place and I won’t get sick.

「… What are you doing?」
「Kukuku, praise my great wit. I will not make the same mistake again.」
「… I can see that you are about to do something stupid」

Seriously, it seems that this girl is unable to understand the greatness of what I am about to do.
Yes, there are absolutely no errors with this.
Admire the result of my three years on high school, the『Hellish Iron Balls』.
With this I will revolutionize the entire continent, leaving my name in the history of the world.
Yes, I only need some iron balls and physic.

I must say that I enjoyed my time as a high school student.
Although I think I was absent from school a lot at that time.
And I think that was when I became a hikikomori.

The Carriage began to shake the moment the coachman made the horses go.
Alex, who had a good posture, didn’t seem to be affected by the movement of the carriage.
On the other hand, despite the fact that my lower half was moving from side to side, my head was still firm and stable in place.
Yes, it is a victory for physics.
I couldn’t help but smile at my achievement.

「… Kukuku, Haaahahahahaha」

Wow, it seems that I ended up giving the same kind of laugh that I let out in my previous life when I achieved something.
But hey, it can’t be helped, I feel incredibly happy right now after all.
While I was immersed in a sense of superiority, the carriage jolted

「… Uwa」

Then, the metal fitting that was holding the seat part in place came off.
It came off with a bang.
While making an unpleasant sound.

Then the rope began to contract.
And as it was obvious, the rope started strangles my neck――

「Geehooo~, *gibu*. *Gibugibugibu!* Alex, help me!」
「What do you think you’re doing…?」
「Guho~ !? The-The rope is starting to get tighter and tighter!
The rope is tightening too much, too much, it’s too much!
I’m going to turn from one of those boneless haaaaaaaaaam!」

I lost consciousness immediately after that.
In the end, I remained unconscious until shortly before we reached the Capital.

I will never trust physics again.
I, who had only glanced at those textbooks in the other world, swore that after surviving such a horrible accident.

·

·

Needless to say, I acquired a trauma towards ropes…

NT: As always, if you find something weird, whatever, just tell me in the comments.


Prior ||| Index ||| Next

6 comentarios en “Din – Vol. 2, Chapter 4

Deja un comentario