Din – Vol. 1, Chapter 14

VOLUME 1 –  CHILDHOOD

Drunkard

NT: Pwe~, I’m so tired… but I have to finish this… pwe~… I would be sleeping if it wasn’t because I was doing this… damn… this happens for leaving everything to the last minute.

The next day.

The streets of the Capital were abnormally noisy during the morning.

 

A horse-drawn carriage pulled by horses was roaming the streets.

After waking up from the scandal outside and went to the hall, where I ran into a maid.

I try asking about what was happening to the maid.

 

「Did something happen?」

「… Yes, something like that.

A magic shop near the Northern Noble District burst」

「What did you say!?」

 

The desire to run away in that moment flooded my body.

A magic shop near the Northern Noble District.

There is no doubt that it’s Edgar’s store.

 

「Excuse me… Is something wrong?」

「I will leave for a moment. Don’t tell my Father」

「Ah! Regis-sama!」

 

I ignored the maid and went outside.

People started to get fuss recently.

It shouldn’t have been long since the explosion happened.

I ran towards the North Noble District with all my strength.

 

 

 

When I got to the place, the bad smell had already spread all over the place and I could see the black smoke rising to the sky.

 

Naturally, there were a lot of people gathered at the scene of the accident, which made it difficult for me to arrive.

Then, after making my way through the crowd, I somehow managed to reach the magic shop.

 

「Edgar! Where are you!?」

 

The scene was terrible.

Had they used fire magic?

There was a huge crater in the place where the store had once been.

Even the building next to the store had been affected by the explosion and was now completely destroyed.

 

「Where are you? Answer me!」

 

I already imagined what had happened.

If the store ended up in this state, then there was no way she was fine.

There was no way she could survive.

However, I still didn’t want to accept that Edgar was dead.

 

「Edgar!」

「Shut up. My head still hurts from the hangover, so don’t make such a fuss so early in the morning」

 

Suddenly, my shoulder was hit.

When I looked back, I saw Edgar, still intact.

She didn’t seem to be hurt anywhere.

 

「Are you all right?」

「You can see it yourself. Although my shop was completely destroyed」

「… That’s good」

 

If it’s just her store, then it’s still possible to do something about it.

But if she died, there would be nothing I could do.

There is no way I could bring her back.

It was good that Edgar had no injuries.

 

「So? How did you save yourself?」

「Well, yesterday I got drunk in a bar.

Then, I ended up falling asleep before I could go home.

And then I finally woke up by the sound of the explosion and came back here, that was it」

 

She looked back at the store.

It was destroyed.

It is no longer in the conditions in which it can still be rebuilt.

The items in the store had scattered everywhere and I didn’t even want to try to think about the total damage.

 

「Uun, I have no choice but to try to save some money as a merchant for a while」

「… No, you don’t have to do that」

 

I said immediately.

In response to my words, Edgar inclined his head confused.

 

「Why? Do you want me to starve?」

「I don’t mean that. We will restore your store to what it originally looked like. I will do it, no matter what it costs」

 

After I told her that, Edgar let out a sigh while looking at me worriedly.

 

「You said they were a Noble, but the Din House has already fallen.

Instead of spending your money on this kind of thing, you better spend it on your people」

「It’s okay. I will not spend my house money.

I will take it directly that who destroyed your store」

 

The perpetrator seems to have already escaped, but it is obvious who did it.

The Servant of Hogos.

He was humiliated in public.

As a revenge, he might have thought about causing this lethal explosion.

 

「The Nobles always perform such acts from the shadows.

Well, even so, it seems that Durf stands out a lot in this」

 

Edgar scratches her annoying cheek.

Even so, she doesn’t seem very surprised.

Although her shop was destroyed.

 

「Don’t look too sad」

「Not that it saddens me too much.

Although it is more because it reminds me of the tension I felt as a mercenary」

 

Edgar pulled a bottle of alcohol from her chest.

Then, she took the lid off the bottle and drank its contents in a single gulp.

Is she a heavy drinker? She didn’t seem to be drunk.

 

「――But you know, it was a little painful to have my shop completely destroyed」

 

*Fu~u*, she let out a sigh.

She looks calm, but Edgar was surely burning with anger inside.

I mean, even I am angry.

Therefore, we have to do something about it.

 

In addition, although Edgar was the target, she was safe, on the other hand, the people in the nearby buildings were the ones who suffered some serious injuries.

Some people were even taken away for treatment.

Those who don’t care about the consequences that their actions may have―― are negligible.

 

「I will definitely crush him…」

「Don’t get too excited.

There’s a villa around here, so I’ll stay there for a while」

「A villa?」

NT: Villa: They are also called recreational homes … think of it as a secondary home

You mean, like those places where people go to spend their vacations?

For a moment I thought that, but after considering her profession as merchants, it occurred to me that it could be a warehouse.

 

「Aah, right. Do you want to come see?」

「It’s okay?」

「Of course. But before doing that, I wondered if we could go eat something.

I started to feel hungry after drinking」

 

Ha~a, this person is useless.

She is the typical drunkard character.

She is the type that has talent with the sword, but ends up drinking without stopping.

On the other hand, I swore never to drink again in my life after a certain incident.

I would like to complain to Edgar about that.

 

Yes, alcohol has magical powers.

Sometimes, it heals people’s hearts and in others it begins to drive its fangs into people.

Even I can say that I made some mistakes because of alcohol in my past life.

 

 

 

――At that time I was about 20 years old.

I had been drinking late and was already starting to feel high.

 

I was drinking a bottle of Champagne with a lot of alcohol.

After drinking it, I immediately lost my sanity.

However, despite being drunk, I still wanted to hang out with someone.

Even I, who is usually extremely depressing, was able to become a cheerful subject after borrowing the power of alcohol.

What’s more, I even did some absurd things.

 

That’s right. Let’s say, I went to play with my pretty little sister while I was still in that state of euphoria.

Yes, in fact, I really made my little sister take care of me.

After mixing my own ideas and alcohol, I got my request accepted.

At that time, I ended up losing my mind in several ways.

 

Then, I ended up kicking the door to the hall.

Then I started running drunk while shouting.

After that, I end up having the reputation of being 『The noisiest person in Christmas Eve』 in the neighborhood.

 

FFF-Fly Away!

You, can’t, stop, me.

Heeeeeeehaaaaaaaaaa!

Merryyyyyyyy Chrismaaaaaaaaas!

NT: He is, indeed, shouting that in English.

I think that was what happened.

Oh, by the way, after that, a police officer went to our house.

Several people began to lecture me.

I feel sorry for the patrolman who had to go deal with me during Christmas Eve.

 

From the expression on his face, he seemed to have come running to our house.

But hey, the tragedy didn’t end there.

I, who had broken my barrier against the society called door, left without taking my surroundings into account.

 

«Nobody can stop me». «Dare to try»

I was overcome by such thoughts.

I, thinking about taking my first step to a new era of glory, took a step forward.

 

One of the saddest things was that the place where I started was already bad.

That place was a staircase, which had just been waxed.

On my feet I wore socks with some holes.

There was no way he could take a step safely with them.

 

As a result, I ended up rolling down the stairs with great momentum.

While falling, I pulled some telephone wires that were nearby and I broke a glass.

After I finished my dramatic descent, I noticed that someone was standing next to me.

 

Oh, my pretty little sister has come to help me when I’m on the verge of death?

With tears on my face, I looked up at the person in front of me.

 

It was my father.

No matter how I look at it, it was my father.

 

I, who was just an unemployed at the time, had completely disappointed my parents.

Too bad, I will definitely be kicked out of the house.

Feeling the impending crisis approaching, try to put an innocent smile.

 

I settled my body in front of my father’s feet, who was giving me a cold look.

Then, after accommodating myself to say my last words, express my gratitude.

 

「Tehe~, Omusubi Kororin( I’m a tumbling rice ball )

NT: Well, I didn’t quite understand all this, but according to what I find… it seems to be related to a rice ball rolling down the hill … like Regis down the stairs … well, that

I guess it was at that time.

It was the first time I had been kicked by my father.

I received a heavy blow to my stomach.

Then, I was handed over to the policeman who had come to see after hearing some strange noises.

『 I wonder how many times was it…』. It was impressive to see the head patrol officer in tears――

 

 

 

Well, I will never make that mistake again.

I have no problems with having a meal with her.

However, Alcohol is a complete NO.

 

Even if Edgar is the one who recommended it, I will flatly reject it.

I follow Edgar, who had already begun to walk, while swearing that in my heart.

 

In the middle of that, I remembered something.

If it’s as I think, then I should be able to catch something.

I softly cast the spell under my breath to prevent any passer-by from hearing it.

This is the detection magic that Wokins taught me before arriving in the Capital.

 

「To those enemies who desire to cause some damage, make them flash in my magic network――『High Detection』」

 

A vast magical power spread out around me.

 

 

High Detection

 

 

Ok, I succeeded in mastering it.

I was lucky to be able to use it at the first attempt.

The thin membrane of magical power is dispensed while searching for something.

I let out a sigh after checking the results.

 

「Nn? What’s wrong?」

「No, it’s nothing」

 

Edgar seemed worried, but I shook my head denying it.

At that moment, my stomach let out a hungry roar.

Now that I think about it, I didn’t eat much last night.

This is my chance, let’s give Edgar something too.

Then, with my spirit reloaded, I followed Edgar.

 

◆◆◆

 

We were in a corner of the city center.

Edgar and I went to a popular bar in the area.

Apparently, Edgar had forgotten that my age still had only one digit.

 

Is that the only thing in your head is alcohol?

She should have just fought with that liquor bottle instead of a sword.

Edgar chewed on a bread and guzzled down a cheap liquor.

 

「Hey, is Wokins interested in women?」

「What’s that so suddenly?」

「No, well, anyway, I would try, even if it were impossible」

「I don’t want to hear anything about that.

Also, what is Wokins for you?」

 

Despite having a pretty face and a good body.

No, really, do you really plan to dedicate your body and hearth to Wokins?

The effect of the suspension bridge from when she was saved could have taken her in a strange direction.

 

「I-I don’t mean that.

I just want to know more about Wokins」

「Like her swordsmanshi?」

「Besides that. I wouldn’t mind doing whatever she wanted… as long as she asked me to.」

「… Someone please help me stop this drunkard」

 

It was definitely the effect of the bad liquor that was affecting her.

That must be.

That’s right, I haven’t heard anything about this obsession that Edgar feels for Wokins.

 

「No, but… Regis wouldn’t be bad either」

「If you have time to be flirting with a 7-year-old child, then go drink a glass of water」

 

Don’t look at me with those eyes.

Even if it’s a joke, it’s not fun.

It would be best if she were a little more conscious about your manners.

She would surely become more popular if she got rid of that dangerous aura around her.

 

「… *Fu~u*, my stomach is full」

「I’m fine with this too. What about the account?」

「I got this. Anyway, it’s cheap」

「Okay, I’ll take care of it, I can’t just let a girl take care of everything」

「No, no, I’ll take care of it」

「No no no. Leave it to me and go away」

「No no no no」

「No no no no no――」

 

After that, we agreed that everyone would pay for their own food.

However, since Edgar was drinking a rather expensive liquor, she ended up paying around 90% of the total.

Even drunk, she began to cry as she murmured, «Uuh, so expensive», but, I hardened my heart and didn’t allow myself to feel sorry.

You should have left everything to me from the beginning.

Then, after our wallets became lighter, we left the bar.

 

「… Uwaa, I can see four Regis.

How shameless can you be to use illusory magic against me?」

 

Edgar, whose body was swinging from side to side while walking, said that.

If you plan to drink alcohol, don’t get drunk so fast.

Isn’t there a saying about that in this world?

Edgar, who had got drunk, become quite emotional.

 

「My beloved store is gone.

But I can definitely rebuild it if I give my all」

「I don’t think so」

「Eeeh, Regis doesn’t think I’m fit to be a merchant!」

「Yeah, yeah, I don’t think so」

 

I felt like I am caring for the drunkard now.

No, actually, that’s what I’m doing.

Why must I be taking care of this drunkard at this age?

 

Even so, the guards don’t try to stop us.

Since one corner of the city was burnt, I had expected them to approach the store owner, Edgar, to ask a few things about what happened.

I look around as I think about the strange situation.

 

――It’s still good for now.

However, the magical power signal that has been following us all day seems to have become more intense.

It’s almost time for me to make my move.

 

I wonder what we look like in the eyes of our persecutor.

I don’t think we look like an old mercenary and a noble child.

We should look like a simple drunk woman and a brat.

Edgar who no longer seemed to be drunk, shot from my sleeve.

 

「Well then, I’ll show you my villa」

「Yes, I was thinking I’d like to see it once at least」

 

It is a lie of course. Who would like to go to such a suspicious place?

However, in order to look as innocent as possible, I nodded happily.

Edgar and I were walking, but we were doing it with a clear objective.

 

Behind us.

Approximately 10 meters away.

From there, a silent killing intent is directed towards us.

I probably wouldn’t have been able to detect something like this if it wasn’t for my detection magic.

And even now, I can barely feel the killer instinct of our persecutor.

 

Even though I knew the source of it, it wouldn’t be a good idea to cause a ruckus here.

Then, while I still felt the cold killing intent behind me, I followed Edgar.

NT: As always, if you find something weird, whatever, just tell me in the comments.


Prior ||| Index ||| Next

10 comentarios en “Din – Vol. 1, Chapter 14

  1. Thank you so much for translating this. I forgot how much I loved Din.

    But please take care of yourself too. I know these chapters are a pain for you (since you said so anyway), so just take your time if you want to do one. If a few more weeks between updates, or a hiatus, is what it takes you to keep from burning out, it’ll be a small price to pay.

    Me gusta

    • You’re welcome.

      Don’t worry, is not really hard to translate. A little confusing due the way the author writte everytingh that causes me to not understand the context at all sometimes forcing me to improvise, but it is not something too serious (it is an insect compared to the Monstrosity (Because Janitor-san is not a Hero), with the Monstrosity it’s like … «I fear no man. But that thing … (Janitor) … That thing scare me»… Damn, I would have abandoned that novel long ago if I just didn’t like it so much). Anyway, in addition to that, there is also the length of the chapters (the chapters of this novel are the longest among those that I translate), but unlike the other novels that I translate, I usually only translate one chapter at a time instead of 2 or 3, so it is not a very significant problem either.

      Le gusta a 1 persona

Deja un comentario